The Lafayette Police Department is divided into 4 divisions, each one being responsible for different duties. Each division may then be subdivided into 2 or more specialized sections performing functions in support of the objectives unique to the division while advancing the overall goals of the department. View our mission, core values and vision.

Personnel Hierarchy

A Captain commands each of the 4 divisions. The Chief and Deputy Chief command the overall operations of the department. The department consists of sworn officers and civilian support staff.

Patrol Division

The Patrol Division is the backbone of department operations. It is the largest division as well as being the most visible of the 4 divisions. The Patrol Division consists mainly of 4 alternating 12 hour shifts (Red days, Red Nights, Blue days and Blue nights). Several of the special units are also coordinated and supervised through the Patrol Division.

Detective Division

The Detective Division is the 2nd largest of the two enforcement divisions. It is smaller and less visible to the public but no less important in helping the department achieve its goal of service to the community. A primary difference between officers assigned to patrol and officers who work as detectives is that detectives can take the necessary time to bring a case to conclusion while patrol officers often perform initial investigations but are then expected to be available for the next emergency call. This division has four main units: Violent Crimes Unit, Property Crimes Unit, Special Victims Unit and Crime Scene (Forensics) Investigation.

Special Operations Division

The Special Operations Division includes specialized units which do not neatly fall within the other three divisions.  Included in this division:

  • Tippecanoe Drug Task Force
  • Analysis and Response Center 
  • Street Crimes Unit
  • Highway Interdiction Team
  • Crime Analysis Unit
  • Dispatch Center
  • Traffic
  • IDACS/NCIC compliance civilians 
Administrative Services

The Administrative Services Division is the smallest of the 4 divisions but it provides much of the "grease" that keeps the gears of justice running in a smooth fashion. Administrative Services officers are seldom involved in enforcement functions but the duties they perform assist the other 3 divisions in reaching their goals. Administrative Services is responsible for:

  • Records Section Management 
  • Property and Evidence Management 
  • Internal Affairs 
  • Training 
  • Community Outreach 
  • Animal Control Management 
  • School Resource Officer Coordination 
  • D.A.R.E Officer Coordination